The fund

The performing arts, fashion, digital arts, architecture, heritage, plastic arts, video games, music, publishing, radio, television, design, cultural mediation, gastronomy and more... creative or cultural industries represent a multitude of different lines of work in very varied domains. Passion, talent, creativity and culture lie at the heart of these activities.

In 2012, the cultural and creative industries accounted for 104,000 jobs in Wallonia and Brussels, 7.4% of employers in Wallonia and 11.5% in Brussels. At national level, this sector generated 4.8% of the overall turnover (€48 billion) and 4.8% of the GDP (€15.6 billion). The added value of cultural and creative industries in Belgium is five times higher than that of the pharmaceutical industry and six times higher than that of the automobile industry. (Le poids économique des Industries culturelles et créatives en Wallonie et à Bruxelles (The Economic Weight of Cultural and Creative Industries in Wallonia and Brussels, IWEPS-ULB, December 2014)

And yet, due to their specific characteristics - and despite their dynamism and professionalism - creative enterprises often have difficulty finding the financial resources that are essential for their development.

The St’art investment fund is a financial instrument that is unique to Brussels and Wallonia. It was set up at the end of 2009 and is the fruit of the shared will of Wallonia region and the Wallonia-Brussels Federation to support the development of the creative economy by reinforcing the solvency and capacity for growth of small and medium-sized businesses.

Today, the fund capital amounts to €17 million. The shareholders of St’art are Wallonia region, the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and Finance.Brussels (a Brussels regional investment company).

St’art focuses on small and medium-sized companies, including non profit-making entities. The fund contributes to the creation of companies and the development of existing structures, for example, to carry out new projects, create products or conquer new markets. The fund operates in the form of loans and the acquisition of equity.

The aim is also to introduce a leverage effect with banks and private investors. St’art works in close collaboration with public authorities and regional investment companies. St’art’s intervention is therefore supplementary to other existing financial mechanisms and subsidies, where available; it does not replace them.

Human capital, talent and the ability to innovate are key to our regions’ economic life. By providing the creative industry with a favourable environment and listening to their specific needs, St’art is the creators’ investment organisation.

Let’s look at funding for your company!

logo Fédération Wallonie Bruxelles logo Wallonie logo finance

Le fonds

Arts du spectacle, mode, arts numériques, architecture, patrimoine, arts plastiques, jeux vidéo, musique, édition, radio, télévision, design, médiation culturelle, gastronomie… les entreprises dites créatives - ou culturelles - représentent une multitude de métiers dans des domaines très variés. La passion, le talent, la création, la culture sont au cœur de ces activités.

En 2012, les Industries culturelles et créatives occupaient en Wallonie et à Bruxelles 104.000 emplois, 7,4% des employeurs en Wallonie et 11,5% à Bruxelles. A l’échelle nationale, ce secteur a généré 4,8% du chiffre d’affaire global (48 milliards d’euros) et 4,8% du PIB (15,6 milliards d’euros). La valeur ajoutée des Industries culturelles et créatives en Belgique est cinq fois plus élevée que celle de l’industrie pharmaceutique et six fois plus élevée que celle de l’industrie automobile. (Le poids économique des Industries culturelles et créatives en Wallonie et à Bruxelles, IWEPS-ULB, décembre 2014)

Et pourtant, en raison de leurs spécificités - et malgré leur dynamisme et leur professionnalisme -, les entreprises créatives ont souvent du mal à trouver les moyens financiers indispensables à leur développement.

Le fonds d’investissement St’art est un instrument financier unique à Bruxelles et en Wallonie. Créé fin 2009, il est le fruit d’une volonté commune de la Région wallonne et de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles de soutenir le développement de l’économie créative en renforçant la solvabilité et la capacité de croissance des PME.

Aujourd’hui, le capital du fonds est de 17 millions d’EUR. Les actionnaires de St’art sont la Région Wallonne, la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et Finance.Brussels (société régionale d’investissement de Bruxelles).

St’art s’adresse aux petites et moyennes entreprises, y compris les asbl. Le fonds contribue à la création d’entreprises et au développement de structures existantes pour, par exemple, mener un nouveau projet, créer un produit ou conquérir de nouveaux marchés. Le fonds intervient sous forme de prêts et de prises de participation.

L’objectif est aussi d’induire un effet levier auprès des banques et des investisseurs privés. St’art travaille en étroite collaboration avec les instances publiques et les invests régionaux. L’intervention de St’art est donc complémentaire aux autres mécanismes financiers existants et aux éventuelles aides publiques ; elle ne s’y substitue pas.

Le capital humain, les talents et le pouvoir d’innover sont des éléments-clefs de la vie économique de nos régions. En offrant un environnement favorable aux entreprises créatives et en écoutant leurs besoins spécifiques, St’art est l’invest des créateurs.

Parlons ensemble du financement de votre société !

logo Fédération Wallonie Bruxelles logo Wallonie logo finance