Creative and cultural industries

Still considered of lesser importance in terms of economy and employment barely ten years ago, the Cultural and Creative Industries are today the subject of numerous European, national and regional policies that recognise their positive impact on economic revival and the regions’ identity and attractiveness.

The digital revolution has, of course, affected this sector bringing with it its new creative fields, new uses and new economic models. Creativity serving the creation of value outside cultural sectors: design, fashion, digital services, etc. and more broadly in the entire economy.

The Europe 2020 strategy road map is clear: development of an economy based on knowledge and innovation, in which culture will be the lever, thanks in particular to its capacity to nurture and regenerate traditional industries and create new goods and services.

ESSnet Culture (2012) defines the cultural and creative industries as “all sectors whose activities are based on cultural and/or artistic values and other artistic creations, whether these activities are commercial or non-commercial, regardless of the type of structure and whatever their mode of funding. These activities include the development, creation, production, dissemination and preservation of goods and services that embody cultural, artistic or creative expressions, as well as associated functions such as education or management. The cultural and creative sectors cover, among other areas, architecture, archives, libraries and museums, artisanal crafts, cinema, television, video games, multimedia, tangible and intangible cultural heritage, design, festivals, music, literature, the performing arts, publishing, radio and visual arts.”

However, the field of CCIs continues to evolve. Activities are becoming increasingly multidisciplinary and hybrid, and are continually connecting with other sectors of the economy.

Since the end of 2014, Wallonia and Brussels have had access to the invaluable results of a study on the economic weight of cultural and creative industries in their region. Undertaken by the Walloon Institute of Assessment, Forecasting and Statistics (IWEPS), which commissioned the Free University of Brussels (ULB), this new study is a request by the governments of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and Wallonia with a view to orienting future policies. (Download the study)

Access to CCI funding

In Europe, 80% of CCIs are small or medium-sized businesses comprising fewer than 10 people who together generate barely 18% of the sector’s annual turnover. Large companies are very much the minority (less than 1%) but generate over 40% of the annual turnover. The “missing middle” phenomenon demonstrates the difficulty CCIs have in growing. Small and medium-sized businesses must demonstrate dynamism, strategy, flexibility and risk-taking in respect of the opportunities presented by a market which, in CCIs, is typically volatile and in unpredictable.

The culture and creativity sectors tend to have recourse to short-term funding, which means expensive financial products. The desire to retain creative independence often gives rise to a reluctance to open their capital to investors.
In Belgium, over 75% of CCIs rely mainly on equity and only 46% have access to external sources of funding, which up to 88% consider difficult to access. Of course, funding patterns differ between “cultural” sectors (largely supported by the public) and “creative” sectors (which tend to be more commercial).

In 2010, the Green Paper entitled Unlocking the Potential of Cultural and Creative Industries set the basis for one of the great challenges of European strategy: facilitating access to funding for small and medium-sized businesses in the CCIs. Europe called on politicians to adopt an integrated and strategic approach to favour the development of CCIs.

Mechanisms to encourage private investment are numerous, and include fiscal levers and the extension of guarantee systems to the CCI sector, which are identified as the most effective. They are also central to the Creative Europe programme (2014-2020). Better knowledge of the market and methods of evaluating intangible assets are other approaches that would enhance the attractiveness of CCIs in investors’ eyes. Finally, appropriate support of creative entities in managing their business and seeking funding is essential for a successful meeting between creative entities and financial backers.

(See the literature sources)

The ST’ART fund was created in French-speaking Belgium at the end of 2009 to provide entities with a direct funding solution and also, more broadly, to work in collaboration with other partners on the consideration and implementation of new funding solutions requiring public and private investment.

logo Fédération Wallonie Bruxelles logo Wallonie logo finance

Les industries culturelles et créatives

Encore jugées comme secondaires en terme d’économie et d’emploi il y a une dizaine d’années à peine, les Industries culturelles et créatives (ICC) font aujourd’hui l’objet de nombreuses politiques européennes, nationales ou régionales qui reconnaissent leur impact positif sur la relance économique, sur l’identité et l’attractivité des territoires.

La révolution numérique est bien sur passée par là, apportant son lot de nouveaux champs de création, nouveaux usages et nouveaux modèles économiques. La créativité a servi à la création de valeur en dehors des secteurs culturels : design, mode, services numériques… et plus largement dans l’ensemble de l’économie.

La feuille de route de la stratégie Europe 2020 est claire : développer une économie fondée sur la connaissance et l’innovation, dont la culture sera le levier, grâce notamment à sa faculté d’alimenter et régénérer les industries traditionnelles et de créer de nouveaux biens et services.

ESSnet Culture (2012) définit les Industries culturelles et créatives comme « tous les secteurs dont les activités sont basées sur des valeurs culturelles et/ou artistiques et autres créations artistiques, que ces activités soient marchandes ou non-marchandes, quelque soit le type de structure, et quelque soit son mode de financement. Ces activités incluent le développement, la création, la production, la dissémination et la préservation des biens et services qui incarnent des expressions culturelles, artistiques ou créatives, ainsi que des fonctions liées telles que l’éducation ou le management. Les secteurs culturels et créatifs recouvrent entre autres l’architecture, les archives, les bibliothèques et musées, les métiers d’art, le cinéma, la télévision, les jeux vidéo, le multimedia, le patrimoine culturel matériel et immatériel, le design, les festivals, la musique, la littérature, les arts de la scène, l’édition, la radio et les arts visuels. »

Cependant, le champ des ICC n’a pas fini d’évoluer. Les activités deviennent de plus en plus multidisciplinaires et hybrides, et ne cessent de jeter des ponts vers les autres secteurs de l’économie.

La Wallonie et Bruxelles disposent depuis fin 2014 des résultats précieux d’une étude sur le poids économique des Industries culturelles et créatives sur leur territoire. Menée par l’IWEPS, qui a mandaté l’ULB, cette étude inédite est une demande des gouvernements de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et de la Wallonie en vue d’orienter les politiques futures. (Télécharger l’étude)

L’accès au financement des ICC

En Europe, 80% des ICC sont des PME de moins de 10 personnes qui génèrent ensemble à peine 18% du chiffre d’affaire annuel du secteur. Les grandes entreprises sont marginales (moins d’1%) mais génèrent plus de 40% du chiffre d’affaire annuel. Le phénomène du « missing middle » démontre la difficulté pour les ICC de croître. Les PME doivent faire preuve de dynamisme, de stratégie, de flexibilité et de prises de risques par rapport aux opportunités d’un marché qui, dans les ICC, est caractérisé par une demande volatile et des prévisions difficiles.

Les secteurs de la culture et de la créativité ont tendance à se financer à court terme, soit des produits financiers qui coûtent cher. Le souci de garder la maîtrise de l’indépendance créative est souvent un frein à l’ouverture de leur capital aux investisseurs.
En Belgique, plus de 75% des ICC recourent principalement aux fonds propres et seulement 46% recourent à des sources de financement externes, qu’à 88% elles estiment difficile d’accès. Bien sûr, les habitudes de financement diffèrent entre les secteurs « culturels » (largement soutenus par le public) et les secteurs « créatifs » (à vocation davantage commerciale).

En 2010, le Livre Vert, libérer le potentiel des Industries culturelles et créatives jetait les bases d’un des grands défis de la stratégie européenne : faciliter l’accès des PME dans les ICC au financement. L’Europe faisait ainsi appel aux politiques pour adopter une approche intégrée et stratégique pour favoriser le développement des ICC.

Les mécanismes pour stimuler l’investissement privé sont multiples, parmi lesquels les leviers fiscaux et l’extension des systèmes de garantie au secteur des ICC sont identifiés comme les plus efficaces. Ils sont d’ailleurs centraux dans le programme Creative Europe (2014-2020). Une meilleure connaissance du marché et des méthodes de valorisation des actifs immatériels sont d’autres approches qui augmenteraient l’attractivité des ICC auprès des investisseurs. Enfin, un accompagnement adapté des créatifs dans le management de leur business et la recherche de fonds est essentiel pour une rencontre réussie entre créatifs et financeurs.

(Voir les sources)

En Belgique francophone, le fonds ST’ART a été créé fin 2009 pour apporter directement une solution de financement aux entreprises, mais également, et plus largement, pour œuvrer, en collaboration avec d’autres partenaires, à la réflexion et à la mise en place de nouvelles solutions de financement qui sollicitent des investissements publics et privés.

logo Fédération Wallonie Bruxelles logo Wallonie logo finance